Music to My Ears

I was lucky enough to get a preview copy from One2One Network of Brandi Carlile ‘s newest release,” Give Up the Ghost.”   I say lucky because that is exactly what I felt when I heard this  singer/songwriter sing.    Carlile’s latest release was my first time hearing her voice and experience her songwriting.  She brings together folk and rock on this release.  Her voice has a sincerity in it that shows through on all ten of the  tracks.  Her vocals combined with her band consisting of twin guitarists/bassists, a drummer, and a cellist hits the right notes.  In songs like “Caroline”   Carlile delivers a big sound with the help of none other than Sir Elton John…  “Looking Out” is a song showcasing some of the album’s best lyrics such as “I know the darkness pulls on you, but it’s just a point of view  When you’re outside looking in, you belong to someone.”    My favorite on the album happens to be “That Year” which she  tells of the suicide of a high-school  friend.  Her crystal clear voice along with the raw lyrics can’t help but leave an impression on your mind.    Carlile throughout this album does not dissapoint this listener.

brandi_carlile_give_up_the_ghost_main

As many of you know I am not a music critic but I hope that I have piqued your interest in Brandi Carlile.  If you like artists like the Indigo Girls,  David Gray, Norah Jones, or Ingrid Michaelson,  give  Brandi Carlile  a chance with  “Give Up the Ghost.”       Her enticing clear voice and the well-thought lyrics was  “Music for my ears.”

Leave a Reply

