Barenaked Ladies Turn the Page!

As many of my loyal readers know I am a wild fan of Barenaked Ladies the band that hails from Canada.  Steve Page has been one of the lead singers and songwriters of this band since it’s inception in 1988 and since then they have developed a cult-like following.   They have had four Top 5 singles in Canada, and two Top 20 singles in the U.S., where “One Week” reached No. 1 in 1998 and “Pinch Me” hit No. 15 in 2000.

For me it has always been about the song writing and the live performances.  Steve (like I know him personally) has an awesome range of vocal skills and ventured outside the Ladies in 2005 with  the  Vanity Project.   He has had some things that came up this year including an arrest which led to more negative press than I am sure Page ever wanted.

The Ladies as I like to call them have been there for me through many of my life’s ups and downs.  I have had a history of depression just as Steve has struggled with it and  have identified with this remarkable singer-songwriter.

That is why I have sadness in reporting that Page will no longer be a part of the Barenaked Ladies.  The news was confirmed on the Barenaked Ladies website with this statement:  ” By mutual agreement, Steven Page will be parting company with the remaining members of Barenaked Ladies. Jim Creeggan, Kevin Hearn, Ed Robertson, and Tyler Stewart will continue recording and touring together as Barenaked Ladies. Steven Page will pursue solo projects including theatrical opportunities while the band enters the studio in April 2009, and hits the road in the fall.”

This is not meant to be a  suck up hard- hitting article to the man and the legend who has graced  more than one of my naughty dreams.  Prior posts can help with that background information regarding these dreams… Just wanted to go on record saying that Page will always be number one on my charts.  Wit and intelligence outrank it all for me as a major turn on.  I am sure that he will be successful in whatever he does and the rest of the band is still outstanding without this front man. Here is wishing you Steve the very best and hoping that you will show off your ass-ets in your new endeavors both personally and professionally.

2 responses to “Barenaked Ladies Turn the Page!

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "barenaked ladies"

  2. Hi! Found you from the Blissdom list. Just had to say that this is a bummer – I really like the BNL. Pinch Me is one of my all-time favorite songs, and my BNL greatest hits CD is almost worn out!

Leave a Reply

